Review of “Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation” by Tim Hamilton

Standard

Image

Image

 

Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation was only the second graphic novel I had ever read. The first was Maus, and I am doubtful that a greater graphic novel exists. I could speak endlessly about Maus. It is wonderful. When I started Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation, I had high expectations. The book did not meet my expectations, BUT I think it is still worthwhile.

The graphic novel was a successful adaptation of Fahrenheit 451. It communicated all of the important ideas/themes of the novel. The novel is relatively short, so it is particularly easy to adapt into the graphic novel form. The novel is also a good candidate for adaptation because it provides many visual opportunities. The best sections of the graphic novel were those involving fire. These sections were drawn in bright, blazing oranges, reds, and yellows. I thought these parts were very powerful. It made the act of burning books seem even more terrible/condemnable than Bradbury could have possibly portrayed in the novel. Even though the adaptation did many things well, I would still have preferred to have just read the actual novel. But, again, I am not a visual thinker, and I would prefer to visualize the events of the novel myself without the help of an artist.

Although graphic novels aren’t really “my thing,” I think it is an excellent idea to use them in a high school classroom. Students that may struggle with or dislike reading may be more inclined to actually read a graphic novel. If a student struggles to comprehend what he/she is reading, graphic novels provide a visual accompaniment to the written storyline. Graphic novels can also be introduced in a classroom to break the monotony (if you want to call it that) of a lineup of straight novels.

The general reader, like me, may want to stick to reading Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. However, if you are a fan of graphic novels, a high school teacher (or potential teacher), or a Bradbury fan, I would suggest checking out this book.

Leave a comment